47: “You sure you can do that?” PC

Sting (NOUN)
Pronunciation: /stɪŋ/
informal – A carefully planned operation, typically one involving deception: five blackmailers were jailed last week after they were snared in a police sting


I’ve finally spoken to our contact at Thames Valley Police. He confirmed everything that Sydney had told me. There was no going back. I outlined the situation and, unfortunately, he cannot directly help with my case because it comes under the jurisdiction of the Metropolitan Police – however we do have a crime reference number now.

The PC was extremely helpful in telling us the necessary steps we must take:

  1. We each have to report everything to Action Fraud and get references which can be passed on to the police.
  2. I must pass on the crime reference number and Action Fraud reference to Wonga so that the loan is offset.
  3. We must get bank statements for the past 2 months and highlight the transactions relating to David.
  4. We must pass on all references to our banks and the transactions which are fraud, so that they can, where possible, provide refunds.

In the meantime he had one request for me; help him arrest David – which I was more than willing to do. I wanted justice, even if he would be arrested for skipping bail initially rather than everything he had committed against us.

I agreed and he suggested a ‘sting’ of sorts. With mine and David’ ‘2 month anniversary’ approaching, I suggested that it would be the perfect ruse.

“You sure you can do that? he asked.

What choice did I have? This was perfect. This was rather exciting. To be involved in a police operation of sorts.

So the plan is to meet David, relay the location to one of my housemates, she will relay that to the police and they will come and get him. Simple, right?

Let’s hope I can arrange something. I’ve not seen David in quite a while but as far as I am aware, we are still “together”. We sickeningly message still. Maybe if I grovel and feign excitement for our anniversary and make up some excuses as to my distance.

If he can lie to me, I can lie to him – I’m sure he won’t be expecting that!

Leave a comment